One Hundred Mile Mark

Wow!  It went by so fast!  I reached the 100 mile mark this morning at the end of my ride… more specifically, at the end of my driveway.  I was both elated and bummed out.  LOL  I had hoped to reach that mark at, or at least near, some fantastic overlook in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, on the Blue Ridge Parkway, or at some other scenic location so I could attach a photo and a map reference to this entry, but alas, it didn’t work out that way.  That’s ok.  There will be many more of those milestones in the future if I have anything to do with it.

In case you’re not familiar with Goldwings, they have 3 ways of tracking mileage.  The first two, an odometer and a tripometer, are pretty much standard on most bikes, however the third isn’t.  This bike has a trip computer with a 2nd tripometer that can be reset without affecting the dash tripometer.  At the end, or sometimes at the beginning, of each trip I reset the one on the trip computer, and only the one on the trip computer, so I can track how far I go each time out.  I’m leaving the primary tripometer alone, at least for now, so I can see how far I’ve ridden since the repairs to my bike were completed and I “officially” put it on the road.  I think that will be interesting to watch as the weeks, and months, roll by.  If I can remember to do so I’ll let you know when I reach either the 250 or 500 mile mark, then the 1,000 one.  Is anyone willing to guess how long each of these will take?

Happy (and safe) Riding!

Leave a Reply

