Road Ready

Road-Ready

After months of repairing mouse-chew damage, electrical malfunctions, and rust-frozen mechanisms my bike is finally road-ready!  Yes, I know, some of you are thinking, “It’s about time!”.  LOL  I finished up all of the repairs that were needed to be able to put it on the road, did a quick cleaning, and loaded it on a trailer to take to a local motorcycle repair shop for a safety check.

Before you ask… I didn’t ride it there because one of the repairs involved the brakes.  I trust my repair abilities, and a cursory check of the brakes showed they were working fine, however it’s been years since I’ve rebuilt a brake system from the reservoir down, and most of my riding for the next couple of months will be in the mountains.  There’s a time and place to be brave, macho, and self-assured, but mountains are not the place you want to hope there isn’t some little thing wrong that a second set of eyes may catch.  A second opinion could keep that little thing from becoming a major thing while headed down a steep grade or around a sharp curve with a 500 or more foot drop only a few inches away from you.  There’s not a whole lot of time to come up with an exit-strategy in situations like those.

When I got to the shop the owner helped me unload my bike, then we discussed what I wanted them to check.  When I finished, he explained what else he would want to address.  I was glad to see he took an interest in my bike, and not treat me/it like it was just another job.  I had talked with him many times before about parts and repairs and felt comfortable leaving this job in his hands.

I headed home with an empty trailer as well as an empty feeling.  I was leaving my baby “alone” under the care of somebody else.  Later that evening when I looked out on the spot my bike normally occupies I felt sort of like a parent whose child was away for their first sleepover.  The shop called about mid-day the following day to let me know they had finished and I could pick up my bike.  When I got there my bike was sitting outside waiting for me.  If bikes could give you the look of “you left me with a stranger”, I would have sworn she did, but I know it was my own mind regretting having to temporarily part with her.

The report was great.  Everything is in good working order with the exception of the throttle.  It works okay, and is not a safety hazard, but it’s not springing back quite as fast as it should.  A new cable will correct that, but it’ll have to wait until I can save up a few extra bucks.  This winter sounds like a good time to do that.  😉 The owner even told me he wouldn’t hesitate to hop on the bike and head off for California.  Not bad for a bike that’s 27 years old!

Unless I’m doing a ride report I’m not typically one to recommend a person or service, but I’m going to do so in this case.  As I said before I’ve had many discussions with the shop owner about parts and repairs.  As picky as I am about my bike(s) I’m not one bit uneasy about recommending this shop, so if you’re ever in the Eastern TN or Western NC area and need to have something done to your bike check with the folks at Precision Cycle Motorsports on US-23/74 in Sylva, NC.  Of course you can always check them out HERE as well.  I guarantee you will be glad you did.

Happy (and safe) Biking!

2 thoughts on “Road Ready

  1. As I website possessor I believe the content matter here is great, appreciate efforts. You should keep it up forever! Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

